- Town Departments
- Additional Services
- Safe Baby Site
Safe Baby Site
In 1999, Texas became the first state to pass a safe haven law for infants. Also known as the Baby Moses law, this law provides a responsible alternative to parents who might otherwise harm or abandon a newborn child in an unsafe place. You can find this law in the Texas Family Code, Chapter 262, Sub-chapter D. Emergency Possession of Certain Abandoned Children.
If I want to leave my baby at a Safe Baby Site, what should I do?
Go to a hospital or fire station and give your baby to a person who works there. Please remember, it is very important that you do not leave the baby at the door or in the parking lot.
Sunnyvale Fire Station Number 1 is located at 404 Tower Pl., Sunnyvale, TX 75182 and we are staffed with Firefighter/Paramedics 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If we are not there we are probably out on an emergency call; please wait for us and we should return shortly. If you would like more information, please call us at (972) 203-0314.
How Does the Safe Baby Site Work?
A parent who is unwilling or unable to care for their baby can bring the child to a fire station or hospital and leave the baby with someone who works there. As long as the infant is less than 60 days old and has not been harmed, the parent will not be charged with abandonment.
The workers at the Safe Baby Site will care for the baby and arrange for medical evaluation and treatment, if necessary. The Department of Family Protective Services will be contacted to take custody of the baby, but they will not attempt to identify or locate the parent.
What Information Will I Have to Give?
The people working at the Safe Baby Site will not ask questions to try to learn your identity. If you are willing, they will record any information you can share about the baby's date and place of birth, health, race, or medical history of the parents. This information could be very important in caring for the child in the future.